
Is This Pet Food Calorie Count Calculated or Fed?
Mark whether one labeled dog or cat food states metabolizable energy as calculated or fed, how Modified Atwater works, and why calorie counts are not guarantees.
Mark the Calorie Line Before Treating Protein Percent as Energy
When a pet owner, veterinary technician, or practice clinician inspects one labeled dog or cat food bag, can, topper, or treat pack, three nearby panels are easy to mix up: guaranteed nutrient minimums and maximums, feeding-direction cup amounts, and the calorie line. Crude protein is a structural nutrient percentage. Feeding directions are portion recommendations. Caloric density is a separate identity: metabolizable energy (ME) expressed on an as-fed basis. This page marks that calorie identity on one package. It does not convert the number into a ration for a named animal.
For any single package of dog or cat food, mark four identities before treating another panel as the calorie count. First, is a metabolizable-energy calorie statement actually present under a recognized heading, within a modernized facts box, or is it missing? Second, does the label state that the number was calculated via Modified Atwater equations or fed through an AAFCO testing procedure? Third, which of kcal/kg as-fed and a familiar household unit (cup, can, treat, or piece) are actually on the package? And fourth, has an adjacent panel—guaranteed analysis, feeding directions, or the complete-and-balanced sentence—been mistaken for that calorie identity?
To evaluate these questions accurately, veterinary teams must recognize the legal foundation of pet food oversight in the United States. The Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO) is a voluntary association of local, state, and federal feed control officials. As explicitly documented on AAFCO's official regulatory portals, AAFCO does not regulate, test, approve, or certify pet foods in any way. AAFCO establishes model regulations and nutritional standards. Legal regulatory authority rests with state departments of agriculture and state feed control officials who enact and enforce state commercial feed statutes, alongside the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM).
Under federal law, 21 CFR Part 501 mandates fundamental animal food labeling elements: the product name (identity), the net quantity of contents, the manufacturer or distributor name and address, and an ingredient statement in descending order of predominance by weight. Crucially, 21 CFR Part 501 does not mandate or govern the AAFCO metabolizable-energy statement. A product can fully comply with federal packaging rules while its calorie statement remains calculated, fed, formatted in an emerging facts box, or completely absent under state adoption lag.
This guide is a one-package calorie-statement identity worksheet. It evaluates the energy declaration on a single labeled dog or cat food package. It is not the nutritional-adequacy worksheet that asks whether a diet is complete and balanced or intermittent feeding only (Is This Pet Food Complete and Balanced, or Intermittent Feeding Only?). It is not the intended-use worksheet that asks whether one chew is animal food or an unapproved new animal drug (Is This Pet Chew a Food or an Unapproved Animal Drug?). It does not calculate daily caloric rations or body-condition feeding plans (Dog Obesity: Body Condition Score, Safe Weight Loss Rate, and What Actually Works). It does not replace recall triage (How to Read a Pet Food Recall Notice: Lot Codes, Classes, and When to Call Your Vet; Pet Food Recalls 2025–2026: Salmonella, Vitamin D, Thiamine, and What the Data Shows).
Where the Calorie Statement Lives on a Pet Food Label
The physical location and heading of a pet food's calorie declaration depend on whether the packaging complies with historical Model Regulation PF9, the revised Pet Food Label Modernization (PFLM) Model PF4, or state-specific transition rules. AAFCO's Feed Inspector's Manual (8th Edition, published in 2024) restates Model Regulation PF9: The label of a dog or cat food must bear a statement of caloric (energy) content. This statement must appear separate and distinct from the guaranteed analysis panel and must be placed under the heading 'Caloric Content' (or 'Calorie Content' on consumer-facing literature and state regulations). Model PF9 specifies that the statement must declare metabolizable energy on an as-fed basis in kilocalories per kilogram (kcal/kg) of product, and it may additionally be expressed in a familiar household measure such as cups, cans, or pounds.
On July 31, 2023, AAFCO membership approved comprehensive revisions known as Pet Food Label Modernization (PFLM). Under revised Model Regulation PF4, dog and cat foods—including complete foods, snacks, treats, and food supplements—are directed to display a standardized Pet Nutrition Facts box. Within that box, calorie content is a dedicated calories-per-familiar-household-unit line, with a parenthetical calculated or fed mark. Below that line, the model requires the calories contributed by protein, fat, and carbohydrate—not a substitute protein-percent calorie count. Today's Veterinary Practice (Hill and Dzanis, May/June 2024) states that under the box, calories per kilogram of the diet is no longer provided, and kcal ME wording is dropped in favor of food calories. That review is not the Official Publication; use it for those format points, not as a replacement for PF4.
A vital regulatory boundary must be understood: the Pet Nutrition Facts box is not yet a universal mandatory requirement across all 50 states. When AAFCO approved PFLM, it formally recommended that state feed control programs exercise enforcement discretion for six years following the publication of the printed 2024 AAFCO Official Publication. This multi-year transition gives pet food manufacturers time to exhaust existing packaging inventory, update lab testing, and redesign commercial graphics. State feed programs adopt model regulations on independent legislative schedules, creating a live marketplace where products legitimately display traditional PF9 headings, new PFLM facts boxes, transitional dual labeling, or lag formats.
State regulatory variation clearly illustrates this transition interval. In Kentucky, administrative regulation 12 KAR 3:042 explicitly requires a calorie content statement on all dog and cat foods, including snacks, treats, and supplements. Kentucky requires the statement to appear separate from guaranteed analysis under the heading 'Calorie Content', accompanied parenthetically by '(calculated)' or '(fed)', and declared in both kcal/kg and a familiar unit. Kentucky codified that this traditional Calorie Content heading pathway remains in full legal effect until June 30, 2030, while simultaneously authorizing the alternative Pet Nutrition Facts format. In contrast, Colorado's commercial feed rules (8 CCR 1202-7 Part 10), in the currently compiled state register, retain model text stating that dog and cat food labels 'may bear' a statement of calorie content, except where descriptive claims under Part 11 (such as light or low-calorie) make it mandatory.
A further species boundary exists under PFLM: revised Model Regulation PF4 establishes two distinct facts panels. The 'Pet Nutrition Facts' box applies strictly to dog and cat foods and mandates the familiar-unit calorie line. In contrast, the 'Specialty Pet Nutrition Facts' box—which governs foods for exotic companion animals such as caged birds, small mammals, and reptiles—lists nutrient guarantees but deliberately omits the calorie content line. Dog and cat calorie rules must never be extrapolated across species to specialty pets.
| Label location identity | Governing text on this worksheet | Heading / panel format | Energy units on that format | Method mark | How to read it |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Calorie Content heading | AAFCO Calories and Reading Labels pages; Kentucky 12 KAR 3:042 | Heading: Calorie Content | Those texts ask for kcal/kg as-fed and a familiar unit (can, cup, biscuit, treat, or piece) | The statement must say calculated or AAFCO testing; Kentucky uses (calculated) or (fed) after the heading | Do not collapse this heading with Caloric Content or with a Pet Nutrition Facts calories line. |
| Caloric Content heading | AAFCO Feed Inspector's Manual, 8th edition (2024), Regulation PF9 | Heading: Caloric Content, separate from guaranteed analysis | ME as-fed in kcal/kg; a familiar household measure such as cups, cans, or pounds may additionally be expressed | FIM PF9 restates the statement and comparative-methodology rule; it does not quote the calculated/fed parentheticals | FIM's format example is 3,000 kcal ME/kg, or 300 kcal per cup. That is a form illustration, not a typical product value. |
| Pet Nutrition Facts calories line | 2023 PFLM Model PF4; AAFCO 31 July 2023 membership announcement | Standardized Pet Nutrition Facts box on dog and cat food, including snacks, treats, and food supplements | Calories per the familiar household unit as ME as-fed; Hill and Dzanis: kcal/kg is no longer in the box | Parenthetical calculated or fed on the calories-per-unit line, or a facts-box equivalent | AAFCO recommended six years of state enforcement discretion from the printed 2024 Official Publication. This is a later format, not a duty on every bag. |
| Missing calorie line | AAFCO Calories page (2014 change and remaining unlabeled products); Colorado 8 CCR 1202-7 Part 10 may-bear except Part 11 | No Calorie Content heading, no Caloric Content heading, and no facts-box calories line | None declared on the package | Not stated / unknown | Record missing as missing. Do not invent a missing-statement rate, a remaining-inventory clock, or a kcal value. |
During the six-year PFLM discretion window, one package may still show a Calorie Content or Caloric Content heading, a Pet Nutrition Facts calories line, both, or neither. Dual labeling is a live-market possibility, not a separate named legal category. When inspecting a package, mark which of the four identities above is present without treating guaranteed analysis, feeding directions, or a complete-and-balanced sentence as the calorie line:
flowchart TD
A["Inspect Package Exterior"] --> B{"Is Species Dog or Cat?"}
B -- "No (Specialty Pet)" --> C["Specialty Pet Nutrition Facts (Calorie Line Omitted)"]
B -- "Yes (Canine/Feline)" --> D{"Is Calorie Statement Present?"}
D -- "No" --> E["Missing Calorie Statement (State Lag / Legacy Inventory)"]
D -- "Yes" --> F{"Which Format Is Used?"}
F -- "Heading" --> G["Calorie/Caloric Content Heading (PF9)"]
F -- "Box" --> H["Pet Nutrition Facts Box (PFLM PF4)"]
G --> I{"Method Disclosed?"}
H --> I
I -- "(calculated)" --> J["Modified Atwater Formula (3.5/8.5/3.5)"]
I -- "(fed)" --> K["AAFCO Animal Feeding Protocol (Empirical)"]
I -- "Omitted" --> L["Method Not Stated (Record Unknown)"]Calculated vs. Fed: Modified Atwater vs. AAFCO Feeding Trials
Every valid calorie statement under AAFCO Model Regulation PF9 and state feed law must disclose the methodology used to determine metabolizable energy. AAFCO's official consumer guidance on calories mandates that the guarantor state whether it used its own laboratory calculations or official AAFCO animal testing procedures. Under Kentucky 12 KAR 3:042, this disclosure is codified as a mandatory parenthetical following the heading: 'Calorie Content (calculated)' or 'Calorie Content (fed)'.
The Calculated Method: Modified Atwater Factors
The calculated method estimates metabolizable energy from proximate chemical analysis plus physiological fuel values used for companion-animal labels. In human clinical nutrition, standard Atwater factors assign 4 kcal/g to protein, 9 kcal/g to fat, and 4 kcal/g to carbohydrate. AAFCO's Calorie Content page states that a laboratory that primarily analyzes human foods will not use the same modified Atwater values and will give an inaccurate pet-food calorie number. Dog and cat food labels that use calculation are supposed to use modified Atwater factors: 3.5 for crude protein, 8.5 for crude fat, and 3.5 for nitrogen-free extract (NFE).
As outlined in AAFCO's official startup documentation for calorie determination, the formula calculates metabolizable energy on an as-fed basis per kilogram of food:
ME (kcal/kg as-fed) = 10 × [(3.5 × CP%) + (8.5 × CFat%) + (3.5 × NFE%)]
Because standard commercial laboratory proximate analysis directly measures crude protein (CP), crude fat (CFat), crude fiber (CFiber), moisture, and total mineral content (ash), carbohydrate content is determined by difference as Nitrogen-Free Extract (NFE):
NFE (%) = 100 - (CP% + CFat% + CFiber% + Moisture% + Ash%)
Once metabolizable energy in kcal/kg is established, the familiar-unit value uses the product's measured unit weight in grams: divide kcal/kg by 1,000, then multiply by grams per cup, can, pouch, treat, or piece. If grams per unit are not on the label, record unknown. Do not invent a cup weight:
kcal per unit = (kcal/kg ÷ 1000) × grams per unit
AAFCO's Calorie Content startup page works a four-batch teaching calculation. It is an illustration of the average, not a typical-kcal table and not permission to invent a product value. Nitrogen-free extract is 100 minus crude protein, crude fat, crude fiber, moisture, and ash. Metabolizable energy in kcal/kg as fed is [(3.5 × crude protein) + (8.5 × crude fat) + (3.5 × nitrogen-free extract)] × 10. On that page the four-batch averages are 24.80% crude protein, 14.58% crude fat, 3.88% crude fiber, 8.48% moisture, and 3.10% ash, which yield 45.18% NFE and 3,688 kcal/kg as fed. The same page then converts that teaching figure with labeled unit weights: a 10-gram treat is 36.9 kcal; a food at 120 grams per cup is 442.6 kcal per cup. Use those conversions only as the published teaching math. Do not treat 3,688 kcal/kg as a typical bag, a ranked brand, or this worksheet's fictional packet.
| AAFCO teaching batch | Crude protein % as-fed | Crude fat % as-fed | Crude fiber % as-fed | Moisture % as-fed | Ash % as-fed | NFE % as-fed | ME kcal/kg as-fed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Batch 1 | 25 | 15 | 4.5 | 7.8 | 3.2 | Not totaled on the source row | Not totaled on the source row |
| Batch 2 | 26 | 14.3 | 3.2 | 8.9 | 3 | Not totaled on the source row | Not totaled on the source row |
| Batch 3 | 25.2 | 13 | 4 | 8.1 | 2.9 | Not totaled on the source row | Not totaled on the source row |
| Batch 4 | 23 | 16 | 3.8 | 9.1 | 3.3 | Not totaled on the source row | Not totaled on the source row |
| Published average | 24.80 | 14.58 | 3.88 | 8.48 | 3.10 | 45.18 | 3,688 |
Two facts keep this number from collapsing into guaranteed analysis. First, AAFCO's Calorie Content page states that calculated ME is an arithmetic average based on proximate-analysis data across multiple production batches. Unlike the guaranteed analysis panel, the calorie count is not declared as a minimum or a maximum. Second, you cannot rebuild that average from the guaranteed-analysis minimums and maximums alone: those are legal bounds, and NFE also needs ash. If ash or the method mark is absent, record unknown. Do not fill the gap with a human-food 4-9-4 factor, a website calculator, or a typical-kcal guess.
The Fed Method: AAFCO Animal Feeding Protocols
When a label declares fed, the metabolizable energy number was determined by an AAFCO testing procedure rather than by the modified Atwater calculation. AAFCO's Calories page states that a guarantor can use its own calculations or AAFCO testing procedures, and the calorie statement must state which method is used. Kentucky 12 KAR 3:042 restates that split as a parenthetical after the heading Calorie Content. This worksheet does not reconstruct unpublished feeding-protocol cohort sizes, collection methods, or bomb-calorimetry steps from the Official Publication. Mark fed when the label says so; mark not stated when the method is absent.
What fed does not mean matters as much as what it does. It does not mean the consumer's individual pet has already eaten this bag. It does not mean the product is clinically superior, more palatable, or better absorbed. It does not mean a difference between a calculated number and a fed number proves misbranding unless a cited state rule says so. Colorado's currently published Part 10.1.5.2 limits a feeding-trial label value from exceeding or understating the Modified Atwater value by more than 15 percent; that sentence is Colorado's adopted text, not current PFLM PF4 wording, and not a 50-state ranking.
Scientific Nuance: Modified Atwater vs. NRC Equations
In a May/June 2024 review in Today's Veterinary Practice, Richard C. Hill, MA, VetMB, PhD, DACVIM (SAIM, Nutrition), and David A. Dzanis, DVM, PhD, DACVIM (Nutrition), state that AAFCO recognizes modified Atwater estimates may differ from feeding trials, that the method remains unchanged in PFLM, and that more accurate methods such as those recommended by the National Research Council (2006) have not been incorporated in these model regulations due to limitations in time and resources. That is a professional review of PFLM, not the Official Publication, and not a license to substitute an NRC equation or a human-food 4-9-4 factor for the labeled calculated or fed mark. Modified Atwater remains the calculation method on this worksheet where the label says calculated. It is model-regulation math that states may adopt; it is not a claim that every state has identical text.
Understanding kcal/kg As-Fed vs. Familiar Household Units
Mass-based kcal/kg and a familiar household unit are related but not identical duties. The Feed Inspector's Manual restatement of PF9 requires metabolizable energy as-fed in kcal/kg and says the statement may additionally be expressed in a familiar household measure such as cups, cans, or pounds. AAFCO's Calories and Reading Labels pages treat both kcal/kg as-fed and a familiar unit as the statement. Kentucky 12 KAR 3:042 requires both kcal/kg and a familiar household measure or unit of product, including on snacks, treats, and supplements. MSD Veterinary Manual (updated June 2025) also restates both units and notes that kcal/kg is per kilogram of product, not per kilogram of the animal. Mark which units are actually on this package. Do not invent the missing unit.
Kilocalories per kilogram is a mass-based comparison. AAFCO's Calories page states that a kilogram is 2.2 pounds and that expressing calorie statements as kcal/kg as fed makes similar products easier to compare. A kilocalorie is the same as a calorie on a human food label. The familiar-unit number is what makes daily intake easier to count. This page still does not convert either figure into a cup-per-day ration for a named animal.
The Moisture Dilution Phenomenon
The phrase on an as-fed basis is fundamental to interpreting pet food labels. 'As-fed' means the food exactly as it is packaged, sold, and consumed—including its natural and added water content. Water contains zero calories, but it contributes substantial physical mass. Consequently, products with high moisture content display dramatically lower as-fed calorie numbers per kilogram than dry products, creating a common point of confusion for pet owners.
FDA's Complete and Balanced Pet Food page, content current as of 28 February 2020, states that canned pet food is typically 75 to 78 percent moisture, whereas dry pet food is typically 10 to 12 percent moisture. Water contributes mass and zero calories, so a canned food will often show fewer as-fed kcal/kg than a dry food. AAFCO's Calories page makes that same moisture point and warns that the comparison is not a like-for-like ranking across moisture categories. Those typical moisture ranges are identity context. They are not typical kcal values, and they are not a dry-versus-canned quality score.
That moisture difference does not mean that canned food is inherently lower in energy or less nutritious than dry food. Converting an as-fed calorie figure to a 100% dry-matter (DM) basis is a different comparison, used for nutrient profiles, not a substitute for the labeled as-fed calorie statement. FDA's Complete and Balanced page uses dry-matter conversion for protein guarantees, not for this calorie identity. Do not invent a typical dry-matter kcal ranking.
| Product format | Moisture identity on this worksheet | What as-fed kcal/kg can do | What as-fed kcal/kg cannot do |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dry dog or cat food | FDA literacy page: typically about 10–12% moisture | Compare similar dry products on a mass basis once a PF9 or facts-box calorie line is present | Rank dry versus canned quality, prove a lite claim, or replace a missing calorie statement |
| Canned dog or cat food | FDA literacy page: typically about 75–78% moisture | Show that water dilutes as-fed kcal/kg relative to a drier product | Stand in for a PF10 light/lite/low-calorie maximum or for a familiar-unit count |
| Topper, pouch, snack, or treat that is dog or cat food | Moisture follows the labeled form; Kentucky 12 KAR 3:042 still requires a calorie statement on snacks, treats, and supplements | Carry its own calorie identity if the package is dog or cat food | Borrow a kibble kcal/kg line, a feeding-direction cup amount, or a specialty-pet facts box |
| Specialty pet food other than dog or cat food | Outside this worksheet; PFLM Specialty Pet Nutrition Facts omits the calorie line | Not a dog-or-cat PF9 identity | Do not extrapolate dog or cat calorie rules across species |
A lower kcal/kg as-fed number is not a measure of dietary quality or weight-loss efficacy, and it is not itself a PF10 light, lite, or low-calorie claim. Converting a labeled familiar-unit calorie figure into a daily ration, a body-condition plan, or a named-animal calorie target belongs on Dog Obesity: Body Condition Score, Safe Weight Loss Rate, and What Actually Works, not on this identity worksheet. If the familiar unit or the grams-per-unit weight is missing, record unknown. Do not fill it with a typical cup calorie.
Separating Calorie Content from Guarantees and Adequacy Statements
Commercial pet food packaging contains several dense informational panels governed by separate sections of the AAFCO model bill. In daily practice, owners and clinic personnel often conflate four distinct panels:
Guaranteed analysis: legal minimum percentages of crude protein and crude fat, and maximum percentages of crude fiber and moisture, on an as-fed basis. MSD Veterinary Manual restates that these are legal minimums and maximums, not the actual amounts in the product. They cannot be added, subtracted, or converted into calories without average proximate data, including ash, for NFE. Under current PFLM numbering, nutrient guarantees sit inside the Pet Nutrition Facts box; do not treat historical PF4 numbering and PFLM PF4 as the same panel.
Nutritional adequacy statement (Model PF7): whether a product provides complete and balanced nutrition for a named life stage, or is intended for intermittent or supplemental feeding only. That identity is the published worksheet Is This Pet Food Complete and Balanced, or Intermittent Feeding Only?. Model PF7 does not make the calorie line. A manufacturer statement of adequacy is not AAFCO approval or certification.
Feeding directions (Model PF8): daily feeding recommendations in cups, cans, or grams relative to body weight, or a veterinarian-directed instruction for a therapeutic diet. Feeding directions describe recommended intake. They are not kcal/kg.
Calorie content statement (Model PF9, or the PFLM PF4 calories line): the dedicated metabolizable-energy declaration, with a calculated or fed method mark when the format requires it.
A frequent error occurs when pet owners attempt to calculate pet food calories by multiplying the guaranteed analysis crude protein by 4, crude fat by 9, and crude fiber by 4. This calculation fails for multiple reasons: Guaranteed analysis reports minimums and maximums, not actual batch percentages. Crude fiber represents insoluble plant cellulose and lignin, which provide negligible metabolizable energy to dogs and cats, while digestible carbohydrates (starches and soluble sugars) are omitted entirely from the guaranteed analysis and must be calculated as NFE. Most critically, human Atwater factors (4-9-4) overestimate pet food energy compared to pet-specific Modified Atwater factors (3.5-8.5-3.5).
Why Light and Lite Claims Still Require Calorie Disclosures
Descriptive marketing terms asserting caloric restriction—such as 'light', 'lite', 'low calorie', 'less calories', or 'reduced calories'—are strictly regulated under AAFCO Model Regulation PF10. In state codes, such as Colorado 8 CCR 1202-7 Part 11, these terms have precise legal definitions based on moisture bands and maximum metabolizable energy thresholds.
A fundamental regulatory principle must be recognized: A descriptive term like 'light' or 'low calorie' on the front panel does not replace the mandatory calorie statement. On the contrary, under Model Regulation PF10, the presence of any light, lite, low-calorie, or comparative calorie claim legally mandates the inclusion of an exact PF9-format calorie content statement on the package, accompanied by feeding directions that reflect a genuine reduction in daily calorie intake consistent with the intended use.
Maximum Caloric Thresholds for Light and Low-Calorie Claims
Under AAFCO Model PF10 and state regulations, a dog or cat food labeled as 'light', 'lite', or 'low calorie' must not exceed strict maximum metabolizable energy limits based on product moisture categories:
| Target Species | Moisture Category | Moisture Percentage Band | Maximum Energy Limit (kcal ME/kg as-fed) | Regulatory Mandate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dog Food | Dry Food | Less than 20% moisture | ≤ 3,100 kcal/kg | Must carry PF9 calorie statement and reduced feeding directions. |
| Dog Food | Semi-Moist Food | 20% to less than 65% moisture | ≤ 2,500 kcal/kg | Must carry PF9 calorie statement and reduced feeding directions. |
| Dog Food | Moist / Canned Food | 65% or more moisture | ≤ 900 kcal/kg | Must carry PF9 calorie statement and reduced feeding directions. |
| Cat Food | Dry Food | Less than 20% moisture | ≤ 3,250 kcal/kg | Must carry PF9 calorie statement and reduced feeding directions. |
| Cat Food | Semi-Moist Food | 20% to less than 65% moisture | ≤ 2,650 kcal/kg | Must carry PF9 calorie statement and reduced feeding directions. |
| Cat Food | Moist / Canned Food | 65% or more moisture | ≤ 950 kcal/kg | Must carry PF9 calorie statement and reduced feeding directions. |
Comparative Claims: 'Less' and 'Reduced' Calories
Products that assert comparative claims—such as 'less calories' or 'reduced calories'—operate under distinct statutory requirements under Model PF10 and Colorado Part 11:
Named Comparison Product: The label must explicitly name the reference product against which the comparison is drawn, identifying the comparison brand and specific formulation on the package.
Percentage Reduction: The label must state the exact percentage of calorie reduction achieved relative to the named comparison product.
Same Moisture Category: Comparative claims are strictly prohibited from crossing moisture categories. A manufacturer cannot compare a 10% moisture dry food to an 80% moisture canned food to claim a '70% calorie reduction.' Comparisons must evaluate dry-to-dry, canned-to-canned, or semi-moist to semi-moist.
Identical Methodology: The calorie determinations for both the subject product and the comparison product must be established using the identical methodology (both calculated via Modified Atwater, or both fed via AAFCO testing protocols).
Mandatory Calorie Statement: The subject product must display an explicit PF9-format calorie statement.
The Calorie Identity Worksheet: Evaluating a Fictional Label
To show the worksheet without reviewing a commercial product, mark one labeled fictional package: Canine Meadow Adult Maintenance Recipe (stamped: FICTIONAL BENCH SPECIMEN — NOT A COMMERCIAL SKU). The job is to record what is present, missing, or unknown. Do not populate the packet with a real brand, a real SKU, a feeding plan, AAFCO's 3,688 kcal/kg teaching example, or a typical-kcal table.
| Step | Identity checkpoint | Fictional packet finding | Text used on this worksheet | Mark | What not to do |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Species named on the principal display panel | The fictional PDP reads Adult Dog Food | 21 CFR part 501 identity; AAFCO species-on-PDP rule | Present — dog | Do not apply dog or cat PF9 rules to specialty pet food. |
| 2 | Product form | Dry extruded kibble in a closed bag | Form is recorded so moisture-category comparisons stay honest | Present — dry kibble | Do not invent a moisture percentage or an as-fed kcal/kg from the form alone. |
| 3 | Calorie Content or Caloric Content heading | A Calorie Content heading is present, separate from guaranteed analysis | AAFCO PF9 / Calories page; Kentucky 12 KAR 3:042 | Present — Calorie Content | Do not collapse Calorie Content into Caloric Content or into a facts-box line. |
| 4 | Pet Nutrition Facts calories line | No Pet Nutrition Facts box on this fictional packet | PFLM Model PF4; six-year state discretion from the printed 2024 Official Publication | Not present | Do not treat a missing facts box as nationwide noncompliance, and do not treat Specialty Pet Nutrition Facts as this worksheet. |
| 5 | Calculated versus fed method mark | The heading is followed by (calculated) | AAFCO Calories page; Kentucky parentheticals | Present — calculated | Do not invent fed. Do not read fed as this animal already ate the bag. |
| 6 | kcal/kg as-fed | A kcal/kg as-fed figure appears under the heading | FIM PF9 must; AAFCO Calories page both-units statement | Present as a field | Record the labeled number from a real bag. Do not copy AAFCO's 3,688 teaching example onto this packet. |
| 7 | Familiar household unit | kcal per cup is stated; grams per cup are not stated | AAFCO Calories / Reading Labels; Kentucky requires a familiar unit | Unit present; grams per cup unknown | Do not invent 105 g/cup or a typical kcal-per-cup value. |
| 8 | Adjacent panels mistaken for the calorie identity? | Guaranteed analysis, feeding directions, and a complete-and-balanced sentence are present and separate | AAFCO Reading Labels; FDA Complete and Balanced (as-fed guarantees vs dry-matter profiles) | Not mistaken on this packet | Do not rebuild ME from crude-protein or crude-fat guarantees. Dry-matter conversion of protein is not a calorie statement. |
| 9 | PF10 light, lite, low-calorie, less, or reduced-calorie claim | No such descriptive claim on the fictional bag | FIM PF10; Colorado Part 11; AAFCO Reading Labels 3,100 kcal/kg lite dry-dog example | Not present | If a lite claim appears on a real bag, still mark whether a PF9-format statement is present. The claim is not itself the statement. |
| 10 | Fields that remain unknown | Batch proximate averages, ash, and whether a facts box will later replace this heading are not on the packet | Unknown stays unknown | Recorded unknown | Do not fill gaps with a typical-kcal table, a missing-statement rate, or a ranked food list. |
Sources
This reference guide synthesizes primary regulatory statutes, model administrative codes, peer-reviewed veterinary literature, and federal agency publications governing pet food labeling, metabolizable energy evaluation, and consumer disclosures:
Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). Feed Inspector's Manual, 8th edition (October 2024). Model PF9 caloric-content restatement and Model PF10 descriptive terms. Feed Inspector's Manual, 8th edition.
Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). Calories. Consumer page on the Calorie Content heading, kcal/kg as-fed plus a familiar unit, calculated versus AAFCO testing, and remaining unlabeled products after the 2014 change. Calories.
Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). Calorie Content. Startup page with the modified Atwater formula, NFE, the 3,688 kcal/kg teaching calculation, and the statement that AAFCO does not regulate, test, approve, or certify pet foods. Calorie Content.
Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). Reading Labels. Separate fields for guaranteed analysis, nutritional adequacy, feeding directions, and calories; lite dry-dog 3,100 kcal/kg example. Reading Labels.
Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). Labeling & Labeling Requirements. AAFCO does not review an individual company's label; lite or low-calorie claims still require a specified calorie-content statement. Labeling & Labeling Requirements.
Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). AAFCO Membership Approves New Model Pet Food and Specialty Pet Food Regulations (31 July 2023). Six years of recommended state enforcement discretion from the printed 2024 Official Publication. AAFCO Membership Approves New Model Pet Food and Specialty Pet Food Regulations.
Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). Introducing the New Model Pet Food and Specialty Pet Food Regulations. Pet Food Label Modernization program page. Introducing the New Model Pet Food and Specialty Pet Food Regulations.
Association of American Feed Control Officials (AAFCO). Model Regulations for Pet Food and Specialty Pet Food Under the Model Bill (January 2023). Pet Nutrition Facts calories line; Specialty Pet Nutrition Facts omits that line. Model Regulations for Pet Food and Specialty Pet Food Under the Model Bill.
Kentucky Legislative Research Commission. 12 KAR 3:042. Caloric content of dog and cat foods. Required Calorie Content (calculated) or (fed) path through 30 June 2030, plus a Pet Nutrition Facts option. 12 KAR 3:042. Caloric content of dog and cat foods.
Colorado Department of Agriculture / Colorado Secretary of State. 8 CCR 1202-7 Parts 10 and 11. May-bear calorie-statement lag except Part 11 lite claims; 15% feeding-trial versus Modified Atwater limit; moisture-band maxima. 8 CCR 1202-7 Parts 10 and 11.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Complete and Balanced Pet Food. Content current as of 28 February 2020. As-fed guaranteed analysis versus dry-matter AAFCO profiles; typical canned 75–78% and dry 10–12% moisture. Complete and Balanced Pet Food.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration. FDA's Regulation of Pet Food. AAFCO itself has no regulatory authority. FDA's Regulation of Pet Food.
U.S. Government Publishing Office / eCFR. 21 CFR Part 501 — Animal Food Labeling. Identity, net quantity, manufacturer or distributor, and ingredients are not the AAFCO calorie statement. 21 CFR Part 501 — Animal Food Labeling.
Hill, R. C., & Dzanis, D. A. (2024). Updates to Pet Food Labels and the Effect on Nutritional Evaluation. Today's Veterinary Practice, May/June 2024. PFLM facts-box calorie format; NRC 2006 methods not incorporated. Updates to Pet Food Labels and the Effect on Nutritional Evaluation.
Merck & Co., Inc. Dog and Cat Foods. MSD Veterinary Manual, updated June 2025. Calorie Content as ME as-fed in kcal/kg of product and per familiar unit. Dog and Cat Foods.


